Skip To Main Content

2013 Hall of Fame

HOF Award Graphic

Joe Mitchell '83

Distinguished Alumnus

Joe Mitchell of Westfield is a 1983 alum who earned High Honor Roll 1979-1983. Mitchell was editor of the school newspaper in 1982. He was captain track senior year-broke school record in the 2-mile as well as the captain soccer team senior year. He served the school as treasurer National Honor Society senior year and as the student representative to the district school committee. Mitchell was voted Most Likely to Succeed 1983 and was the valedictorian of the class of 1983. Mitchell attended Worcester Polytechnic Institute and studied electrical engineering and graduated with honors in June 1987. He served in the United States Air Force and graduated top in his class. He served on the first aerial mission into Iraq during Desert Storm and earned the Distinguished Flying Cross. Mitchell is the chairman of the Westfield-Barnes Regional Airport Commission and Westfield’s Veterans’ Services Officer.

David Frizzell '82

Distinguished Alumnus

David Frizzell of Woburn is a 1982 alum and graduated of Anna Maria College in 1986. Frizzell is the fire chief in Belmont. Frizzell worked his way on to the force in 1986 and has moved up to chief, and he is responsible for 50 firemen and 30,000 citizens.

Dr. Henry Thomas '86

Distinguished Alumnus

Dr. Henry Thomas of Stow was the Minuteman class of 1986 valedictorian and valedictorian of the University of Massachusetts - Lowell class of 1990. Thomas has received many accolades including the AEGIS Excellence Award for Outstanding Performance presented to the AEGIS High Range Resolution Team from the US Navy AEGIS program office in 1997. Thomas also received awards from the Department of the Navy, Best Paper at AIAA/BMDO Technology Conference 1999 and 2000, and Lincoln Laboratory Team Excellence Award 2008-2009.

Christine Callahan '01


Christine Callahan of Boston is a 2001 alumna, who graduated with high honors and was a three-sport athlete - basketball, soccer, and softball. She was a two-year captain in basketball and one year in soccer. Callahan led the basketball team to their first state and vocational tournaments in school history and is the leading scorer in school history. She graduated from Endicott College with a Master in Business Administration in 2006 and now works at Meditech as a senior marketing support representative.

Brandon Cranton

Brendan Cranton '03


Brandon Cranton is 2003 alumni with nine varsity letters in football, wrestling and lacrosse. Cranton was named Athlete of the Year in 2003. He was a two-time all star in both football and lacrosse, but wrestling was his forte. He set many school records with wins (89), pins (59), and also a third-place finish in the state tournament which qualifying for the New England’s.

Paul Klemm '79


Paul Klemm of Burlington is one of the finest student-athletes to have worn the Mustangs uniform. An outstanding three-sport athlete - basketball, football, baseball. Klemm earned an 11 varsity letters - four in both basketba ll and baseball and three in football. He also was named Athlete of the Year in 1979 and earned a Globe All Scholastic Honorable Mention in 1979.

Jannine Baker

Service to Minuteman

Jannine Baker of Rockport served Minuteman in many ways: teacher, advisor, and colleague. Baker is best known for advising SkillsUSA for 23 years. Her endless time and effort paid many dividends for students at Minuteman. From organizing, fundraising, coaching, and chaperoning, she set the standard of excellence. The numerous SkillsUSA medals won under her watch are no coincidence. She also garnered the Teacher of the Year Award.

William Blake

Service to Minuteman

William Blake of Arlington has been with Minuteman for 35 years. He was an English teacher, co-chairman of the English Department from 1978 – 2003 and 2003 - 2008, and has served as director of curriculum, instruction and assessment since 2008. Blake is a driving force behind the Minuteman vision. He has a remarkable ability to engage students of all levels through his wit and intellect. He continually strives to better himself and others.

John Gibbons

Service to Minuteman

John Gibbons of Melrose is a 30-year contributor to the Minuteman School District. Gibbons had the task of operating transportation for a school that served 30-plus communities and did his job flawlessly. He also received the Teacher Service of the Year Award for all his efforts with the job of safely ensuring the commute of thousands of students in his years of service.

William Coughlin


William Coughlin of Natick was a varsity football coach from 1980 to 2005. His lifetime record has to do with his unstinting dedication to sports and the difference he made in the lives of his players. He earned Hall of Fame and is also the recipient of the rarely awarded and prestigious MIAA Golden Ticket, which allows him to enter any MIAA sanctioned event. Bill also coached golf and track, and was Teacher of the Year in 1988.

Henry Hall

Service to Minuteman

Henry Hall of Lexington can be properly characterized as a superman of service to Minuteman. He was a founder of Minuteman, serving as a member and chairman of the 12-town Planning Committee that proposed the school district that was launched in 1971. After the district was formed in 1971, he became Belmont’s representative on the School Committee until 1983. He served as the first chairman of the new Minuteman School Committee for the first four years of the new district, 1971-1975. He is currently a member of the Task Force proposing changes to the Minuteman District Agreement.

Hall was selected as a member of the Governor’s Commission on School District Reorganization and Collaboration from 1971-1973. He was named a full partner in the Ropes and Gray Law Firm in 1973. He retired as a partner on Dec. 31, 1997. He was an active member of the Massachusetts Moderators Association from 1991 to retirement, including service as the organization’s president, chairman of its Technical Assistance Committee, and membership on its Legislative committee. He is a Legacy member of the University of Massachusetts - Amherst Alumni Association (1953 graduate).