Skip To Main Content

News Posts

Minuteman Celebrates 2022 Hall of Fame Inductees
Daniel O'Brien

Six Accomplished Alumni, Trailblazing Team, Late Teacher Honored

The 2022 Minuteman High School Hall of Fame Inductees at the conclusion of the ceremony. Front row, from left: Andy Rodenhiser, Tyler Faulkner, Kristin Lopez Cooper, Erin Dalzell, James Phelan, and Susan Flood. The back two rows include members of the 1984 Field Hockey Team (names in article.)


Minuteman High School in Lexington honored six accomplished alumni, a trailblazing female athletic team, and the memory of an inspirational teacher at the 2022 Hall of Fame Celebration on Friday, November 4, 2022.

The Minuteman Hall of Fame honors alumni and former teachers, staff, coaches or teams who have gone above and beyond to exemplify the spirit of Minuteman High School – whether it be in the classroom, on the athletic field, in their community, or in the world of business and industry.

View 2022 Hall of Fame Event Photos

“It’s truly remarkable to bring generations of the Minuteman community together to celebrate what makes us special, our people,” said Dr. Kathleen A. Dawson, Superintendent-Director of the Minuteman Regional Technical School District. “The legacy of the 2022 Hall of Fame inductees is embodied in the revolutionary spirit we cherish in our Minuteman students today.”

The Hall of Fame Ceremony has been held annually since 2012 but had been paused due to the pandemic. Nearly 100 people attended the event, which was held in the Paul Revere Conference Room of the new Minuteman building that was viewed by many attendees for the first time.

The Minuteman High School 2022 Hall of Fame inductees are:

Kristin Lopez Cooper '97

Kristin Lopez Cooper of Billerica, a 1997 graduate and a Belmont native, received an Distinguished Alumna Award. Cooper has owned the Alish and Aston Salon and Spa of Waltham since 2007 and opened a second location in Billerica this year. Cooper also travels the country as an instructor for other cosmetologists for L’Oreal Professional. She employs six Minuteman graduates at her salons. Cooper brought two recent Minuteman graduate-employees with her to work New York Fashion Week.


James Phelan '03

James Phelan of Woburn, a 2003 graduate and a Hudson native, received a Distinguished Alumnus Award. Phelan is the vice president of finance and operations at Verdox, a company in Woburn that develops technology to reduce carbon emissions. Phelan is an attorney and professional engineering with experience in finance, law, and engineering at start-up corporations. He holds a bachelor’s of science degree in chemical engineering from Worcester Polytechnic Institute and a Juris Doctor from Loyola Law School.



Erin Meister Dalzell '05

Erin (Meister) Dalzell of Newbury, a 2005 graduate and an Arlington native, received a Distinguished Alumna Award. Dalzell is an award-winning scientific researcher and is currently a senior associate scientist for cellular process development at Bluebird Bio in Cambridge, which focuses on genetic diseases. Dalzell was the class of 2005 valedictorian, studied medical laboratory science at the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, and holds numerous medical research licenses and certifications.


Hannah Leahy '03

Hannah Leahy of Germany, a 2003 graduate and a Needham native, received a Distinguished Alumna Award. Leahy is an attending physician of musculoskeletal and sports medicine for WellSpan Medical Group. She has held numerous sports medicine positions and was once an attending physician for the Philadelphia Phillies. Leahy received a master’s degree in public health from the University of New England Graduate School of Public Health. She has held numerous internships, residencies and fellowships; she has authored more than 20 scholarly articles and abstracts.




Andy Rodenhiser '83

Andy Rodenhiser of Medway, a 1983 graduate and Framingham native, received a Distinguished Alumnus Award. Rodenhiser is the president and CEO of Rodenhiser Home Services, a multi-million dollar residential plumbing, heating, ventilation, and air conditioning company. Rodenhiser has won numerous industry, charitable, and civic awards. He served on several municipal committees in the town of Medway. He often volunteers to help military veterans transition from military into civilian life, including with finding employment.




Tyler Faulkner '10

Tyler Faulkner of Alton Bay, N.H., a 2010 graduate and Boxborough native, received the Outstanding Athlete Award for his performance on the Cross Country Team from 2006-2010. Faulkner, who earned a degree in diesel technology from Montana State University and now works as a diesel technician, was one of the most accomplished runners in Minuteman’s history. He was a two-time champion in both the state vocational and Commonwealth Athletic Conference tournaments. He also won the prestigious Catholic Memorial Invitational, beating nearly 200 competitors from across the northeastern U.S.



Bruce Flood

Bruce Flood of Woburn, posthumously received the Service to Minuteman Award. Flood, who passed away in 2018 at the age of 54, was an automotive teacher for 19 years. He was named Teacher of the Year in 2004, regularly chaperoned and judged SkillsUSA competitions, and received several awards for being a master automotive technician. Bruce was well known for staying extra hours to help students with automotive projects or anything they needed, including providing a listening ear or life advice. He would regularly cook for colleagues and was a friend to many. Mr. Flood’s award was accepted by his widow, Susan Flood.





The 1984 Field Hockey Team received the Outstanding Athletic Team Award. The student athletes are best remembered for their advocacy, commitment, and dedication to become Minuteman’s first female sports team to earn a spot in the state tournament. After their previous coaches left their positions and the team’s future was in jeopardy, the players advocated for new coaches. Dale Bevins and the late Sandy Lambrinos coached the team despite having no experience and sought guidance from a former U.S. Olympian.

“[The female players] wanted to show us that Minuteman was deserving of a girls’ team,” Bevins said. “Sandy and I were just the conduits. We supported their efforts and gave them the tools, but they did all the work. They truly did.”

The 1984 Girls’ Field Hockey Team Players were: Sheri “Perry” Apprille, Karen Bloomer, Kathy “Barnesy” Barnes, Kristin Brier, Kathy (Harrington) Carey, Jen (Carroll) Coffin, Michelle (Cronin) DeSalvo, Beth (Herman) Duffey*, Jennifer Gladski, Janet (Bruno) Jennings, Nancy (Ryan) Kelemen, Kathy Maloney, Laina (Lambrinos) Matthews, Sue McLure, Annette (Proulx) Ochab*, Lisa (Miller) Oliver, Tricia (Swan) Pini, Edie (Foster) Waldsmith*, and Lu (Bent) Waldsmith. (*captains.)