Out-of-District Students

  • Minuteman's District includes Acton, Arlington, Bolton, Concord, Dover, Lancaster, Lexington, Needham, and Stow.

    We also accept students from other communities, known as "out-of-district" students or non-resident students.  However, students who live in Boston, Cambridge, Medford, Somerville, Waltham, and Woburn are ineglible for freshmen admission because those communities offer their own vocational programs.
    To be considered for Fall admission, students must live in an eligible "out of district" community like, Belmont, Boxborough, Carlisle, Lincoln, Sudbury, or Watertown.  Applications must be submitted and fully processed by March 15th. 
    A final decision will be given by your local Superintendent by April 1st.
    However, the application must comply with the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) admissions policies.
    According to DESE, students who reside in "out of district" cities and towns that do not maintain an exploratory program, may apply for admission to a school in another city, town, or district offering an exploratory program.  These students can attend Minuteman starting in ninth grade.  
    Ninth grade students who reside in "out of district" cities and towns that offer an approved exploratory program, shall attend the exploratory program provided by the district of residence, and cannot attend Minuteman as a ninth grade student.
    The Regulations do not prohibit a grade 10 student from transferring to Minuteman, even if the student did not explore in his/her home district in grade. Please contact our office, if you have questions.
    The following link contains for more information about out of district admission regulations Massachusetts Department of Education Vocational Technical Regulations 603 CMR 4.0.